Kuching - Sarawak team will take part in the Sukma XIX badminton event from September 9 next where all the matches will take place at the Amanjaya Badminton Arena, Ipoh City Sports Complex, Perak.

The badminton competitions will be held for 10 consecutive days with the preliminary rounds of team category are on 9 to 12 September while the singles, doubles and mix events are from 12 to 18 September.

The final match for team event is September 12 while the finals for individual events, doubles and mixed events are on September 18th.

Among the top teams competing at Sukma this year are defending champions of the men's team namely Selangor and the previous Sukma 1st runner-up Penang. In the women category, the defending champion is Penang while the 1st runner-up is Selangor.

The list of players who will be representing Sarawak in Sukma XIX badminton and their age are as follow:

Boys’ team – Owen Ting Shih Wee (19), Nik Azizi Bin Murat (17), Danny Lee Sheng Yee (17), Bong Yung Tze (21), Darren Law (21), Zachary Sia Chiong Shen (18), Barrie Chong Kwang Wei (17) And Syafiq Azhar Bin Haizan (18).

Girls’ team – Flora Fong Xin Jie (17), Erika Vallensia (15) Kashley Kho Tze Yin (15), Kam Wei Li (19), Kristy Tay Yong (19), Felicia Fong Xin Hui (18), Kourtney Kho Ker Yin (21) And Wong Ling Ching (15).

The team manager is Dominic Lim Thiam Hock while Suhairuddin Rahmad is the coach and Ichwansyah is the assistant coach.